The National Executive Board 2018- 2020

The Fiji Trades Union Congress National Executive Board consists of a President, three Vice Presidents, two of whom are women, the National Secretary, two Assistant National Secretaries and the National Treasurer.  The Board is elected at the Biennial Conference to serve a two year term.

Bro. Daniel Urai,  National President FTUC,      General Secretary, National Union of Hospitality, Catering & Tourism Industries Employees (NUHCTIE)
Sis. Teresa Ali, National Vice President FTUC, President USP Permanent Hourly Paid, Intermediate & Junior Staff Union (USP PHPI & JSU)
Bro Semisi Turagabaleti National Vice President FTUC, President Federated Airline Staff Association (FASA)









Bro. Felix Anthony, National Secretary FTUC, General Secretary National Union of Workers (NUW)
Sis Latileta Gaga Assistant National Secretary FTUC, General Secretary, National Union of Factory & Commercial Workers (NUFCW)
Bro. Agni Deo Singh, National Treasurer FTUC, General Secretary Fiji Teachers Union(FTU)


The National Executive Board is empowered to make decisions between the National Council meetings and the Biennial Delegates Conference through the following:

  1. carry out functions of FTUC in accordance with the FTUC Constitution, Resolutions and Decisions of the Biennial Delegate Conference which is supplemented by decision at the National Council
  2. where any matter arises upon which no directions or decisions have been made, determine such in the best interest of the FTUC
  3. interpret the Constitution and Rules of the FTUC as required as well as determine restrictions, exemptions or other conditions that may be imposed on or applicable to any affiliate
  4. set up other Committees as it deems necessary to deal with or process other matters or business of the FTUC and make recommendations on matters to be tabled at National Council meetings
  5. protect the funds of the FTUC and approve all expenditure and financial transactions


The objectives of the National Executive Board are:

  1. to establish, develop, maintain a powerful and effective national organization of democratic trade unions
  2. to assist in the formation of strong and effective trade unions for all workers to protect their rights.
  3. to carry out workers’ education, research on trade union issues including economic systems and social justice, provide assistance to affiliates in promoting better understanding of trade union functions.
  4. to collaborate and assist workers’ organisations in other countries and to its affiliate with appropriate International Organisations.
  5. to lobby for legislations and other practices including the promotion of Collective Bargaining & Freedom of Association
  6. to promote, organise and operate co-operative enterprises or commercial and industrial undertakings on a co-operative basis.
  7. to ensure that the Government meets all its ILO obligations including the ratification of ILO Conventions particularly the eight Core Conventions and Recommendations.
  8. to promote and build capacity for Youth & Women members in trade union activities and leadership