FTUC Appoints two new representatives to their Executive Board

New Appointments to FTUC National Executive Board


The Fiji Trades Union Congress held its Special Delegates Conference on Saturday 16th February 2019 at the Tanoa International Hotel, Nadi. The Special Delegates Conference is a constitutional requirement of the Congress where The National Council calls for a Special one-day Conference to deal with specific issues and debate on issues that affect the working people and adopts a work plan for the next.

On the day of the Special Conference, more than of 150 delegates and observers from Trade Union Affiliate Leaders attended the Conference. The Guest Speaker was Director Pacific Island Countries Mr Donglin Li, International Labour Organization [ILO] – and the key note address was delivered by University of South Pacific Professor Vijay Naidu from School of Government and International Affairs .

A panel discussed the Stakeholder views on three key issues affecting the Employment Relations in Fiji.

  •  I) National Minimum Wage,
  • II) Individual Contracts
  • III) Right to Strike

The contributors were Dr Neelesh Goundar, University of South Pacific Senior Lecturer in Economics, Mr Nesbitt Hazelman,  Chief Executive of Fiji Commerce & Employers Federation , Trade Unionist Mr Attar Singh and Chair & Consultant of Peoples Community Network, Father Kevin J. Barr . THE Panel discussion was moderated by the Assistant National Secretary of FTUC, Ms Latileta Gaga.

The main purpose of this Conference was to amend the Constitution to support the unification of the FTUC with former FICTU.   Hence, the Special Delegates Conference appointed two more members to its National Executive Board.

Newly appointed Vice-President – Brother, Netani Drauvesi,

President, Fijian Teachers Association.

Assistant National Secretary – Brother, Attar Singh,

General Secretary, Fiji Mine Workers and Staff Union.

These are 2 additional position created to accommodate the merger with now a total of 4 Vice Presidents and 2 Assistant National Secretaries.  The current  Board members are President, Mr Daniel Urai, Vice Presidents Ms Teresa Ali ,  Semisi Turagabaleti and Ms Miriama Buitaki , National Secretary, Mr  Felix Anthony , Assistant National Secretary Ms Latileta Gaga, and National Treasurer, Mr Agni Deo Singh who were elected at the Biennial Delegates Conference in May 2018. The current  term ends in May 2020.

The delegates reaffirmed their commitment to work together to promote the rights of Fiji’s workers.

 (Watch this space for further updates on the SDC)

FTUC Communications,

on behalf of Felix Anthony- NS FTUC.